Published: August 3, 2017

Service and leadership awards presented at Annual Meeting

Service and leadership awards presented at Annual Meeting.

2017 Arnold P. Gold Foundation Award for Humanism in Medicine

The Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award recognizes members committed to practicing otolaryngology with compassionate, patient-centered care.

ZafereoThis year’s awardee is Mark E. Zafereo Jr., MD. Dr. Zafereo is an associate professor of Head and Neck Surgery at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center and an adjunct faculty member at the Baylor College of Medicine. He is also the section chief of Head and Neck Endocrine Surgery and associate medical director of the Endocrine Center at MD Anderson Cancer Center.

Dr. Zafereo’s clinical interests include thyroid cancer, parathyroid, and other head and neck tumors. He has published more than 60 peer-reviewed journal articles, invited articles, and textbook chapters related to cancer and diseases of the head and neck. He speaks nationally and internationally on thyroid cancer and other head and neck cancers.

He is passionate about advancing the education of residents and young faculty in the field of otolaryngology-head and neck surgery in developing countries. Over the last decade, he has supported the University of Capetown Karl Storz Head and Neck Surgery fellows in educational endeavors as they return to academic centers in their home countries throughout Africa. He has also developed an international resident exchange program through AAO-HNS and has supported many residents, fellows, and young faculty in their participation in the Academy.

Dr. Zafereo received his medical degree from the University of Texas Medical School at Houston and completed his otolaryngology-head and neck surgery residency at Baylor College of Medicine, followed by a fellowship in head and neck surgical oncology at MD Anderson.

The Academy commends Dr. Zafereo for the compassion, empathy, and sensitivity he demonstrates in caring for his patients.

2017 Distinguished Award for Humanitarian Service

The Distinguished Award for Humanitarian Service is awarded to a member who is widely recognized for a consistent, stable character distinguished by honesty, zeal for truth, integrity, love, and devotion to humanity and a self-giving spirit.

B CampbellThis year’s awardee is Bruce H. Campbell, MD. Dr. Campbell is a professor at the Medical College of Wisconsin (MCW) in the Department of Otolaryngology and the college’s Institute for Health and Equity.

Dr. Campbell’s interest in global health began with a trip in 2008 to Tanzania. Since then, he has volunteered in El Salvador, Tanzania, and Kenya, working for the past few years with other AAO-HNSF members and local otolaryngologists at Moi Teaching and Referral Hospital in Eldoret, Kenya. He has served on the humanitarian committees for several societies, including AAO-HNSF Humanitarian Committee. He is director of the MCW Global Health Pathway and is active with MCW’s Office of Global Health.

He earned a bachelor’s degree in biology from Purdue University and a medical degree from Rush Medical College. Dr. Campbell completed his otolaryngology residency at the Medical College of Wisconsin and a head and neck surgery fellowship at MD Anderson Cancer Center.

Dr. Campbell is receiving this award for his devotion to helping and training medical students, residents, and surgeons in a variety of settings, in the United States and abroad. The Academy recognizes Dr. Campbell as a tremendous role model to others in the specialty.

Holt Leadership Award

The Holt Leadership Award is given to a resident or fellow who best exemplifies the attributes of a young leader—honesty, integrity, fairness, advocacy, and enthusiasm.

CohenThis year’s awardee is David S. Cohen, MD. Dr. Cohen is an associate physician in the Department of Head and Neck Surgery at Kaiser Permanente —Southern California Permanente Medical Group.

Highly involved in the Academy’s Section for Residents and Fellows-in-Training (SRF), Dr. Cohen served on the group’s executive board, was instrumental in growing the participation of SRF members in the ENT PAC and on ENTConnect, and contributed to the launch of mENTorConnect. As a resident, he attended the AAO-HNSF Annual Meeting & OTO EXPOSM as well as the AAO-HNS/F Leadership Forum & BOG Spring Meeting. Since completing his residency in 2016, he has taken on a leadership position in the Young Physicians Section and has become involved with the Board of Governors. Dr. Cohen is passionate about engaging residents, fellows, and young physicians in leadership roles and contributing to decisions that will shape the future of the specialty.

Dr. Cohen earned his medical degree at Keck School of Medicine at University of Southern California and completed a residency in otolaryngology at the School of Medicine at Wayne State University.

The Academy commends Dr. Cohen for his commitment to furthering our mission through his leadership activities and his enthusiasm for mentoring future residents, fellows, and young physicians.

Jerome C. Goldstein, MD Public Service Award

The Jerome C. Goldstein, MD Public Service Award is given annually to recognize an outstanding member for his or her commitment and achievement in service within the United States, either to the public or to other organizations, when such service promises to improve patient welfare.

TucciThis year’s awardee is Debara L. Tucci, MD, MBA. Dr. Tucci is a professor of otolaryngology-head and neck surgery at Duke University Medical Center.

Dr. Tucci is co-principal investigator (PI) on an NIH-funded grant focused on establishing a national network of research sites to conduct clinical research in hearing and balance disorders and is PI of a grant to study healthcare policy related to hearing healthcare in adults. She recently served on the Committee on Accessible and Affordable Hearing Health Care for Adults convened by the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. Beyond her work in the United States, Dr. Tucci has an interest in international hearing healthcare and has worked with international colleagues to improve infrastructure and services in developing countries.

She earned her medical degree from University of Virginia School of Medicine and completed her residency at University of Virginia Health System. She completed an MBA with a certificate in Health Sector Management from the Duke Fuqua School of Business in 2013.

Dr. Tucci is receiving this award in recognition of her dedication, passion, and many contributions to enhance translational research and educate the next generation of physician-scientists. The Academy commends her work with the CHEER network, the President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology, federal regulatory boards, the World Health Organization, and her support of global hearing healthcare initiatives.

More from August 2017 - Vol. 36, No. 7