Published: July 24, 2015

2015 BOG Awards announced

Each year, the AAO-HNS Board of Governors (BOG) highlights outstanding individualized efforts of its state societies and Members. Below are the results of the 2015 BOG Awards. Congratulations!

bogmtgboxEach year, the AAO-HNS Board of Governors (BOG) highlights outstanding individualized efforts of its state societies and Members. Below are the results of the 2015 BOG Awards. Congratulations!

BOG Model Society Award

The Model Society Award recognizes outstanding local/state/regional societies that exhibit effective leadership. The 2015 Model Society Award is based on activities from February 1, 2014, through January 31, 2015.

paohnslogoThe Pennsylvania Academy of Otolarygology-Head and Neck Surgery (PAO-HNS) is the recipient of the 2015 BOG Model Society Award. The PAO-HNS is well represented on the BOG by Karen A. Rizzo, MD, Governor, Jeffrey P. Simons, MD, Legislative Representative, and Jason G. Newman, MD, BOG Socioeconomic & Grassroots Representative.

The PAO-HNS had a major legislative victory in 2014 after a 12-year effort to battle legislation that would inappropriately expand the scope of practice of audiologists and speech-language pathologists. All otolaryngologists in Pennsylvania benefit from PAO-HNS representation on the Pennsylvania Medical Society’s Specialty Leadership Cabinet and the region’s Medicare Contractor Advisory Council. This representation gives the specialty a voice on issues impacting all of medicine and in the development of local carrier determinations for Medicare reimbursement.

BOG Model Society Honorable Mention Award

centslogoThe Connecticut Ear, Nose & Throat Society (CENTS) is recognized with the 2015 BOG Model Society Honorable Mention Award. David S. Boisoneau, MD, Governor, Raymond E. Winicki, MD, Legislative Representative, and Ken Yanagisawa, MD, Socioeconomic & Grassroots Representative, are the CENTS representatives.

In 2014, CENTS participated in several public awareness activities, including, but not limited to, a Doctor’s Day at the Capitol, the organization of seven free statewide head and neck cancer screenings during Oral, Head, and Neck Cancer Awareness Week, and a World Voice Day proclamation/resolution in their General Assembly.

BOG Practitioner Excellence Award

stachlerThe Practitioner Excellence Award recognizes the prototypical clinical otolaryngologist one wishes to emulate. The Practitioner Excellence Award is open to AAO-HNS Members in good standing and requires that within the past 10 years, the physician nominated has practiced medicine in an exemplary manner and is sought out by other physicians because of his or her personal and effective care. In addition to clinical skills, the nominee must possess one or more of the following attributes: civic leadership; charitable activity; leadership involvement with local, state, regional, or national medical organizations; community education; or engagement in local civic and/or community activities.

The 2015 BOG Practitioner Excellence Award is presented to Robert J. Stachler, MD. Dr. Stachler is in academic practice at Henry Ford, helping to shape our future colleagues. He is strongly committed to the success of our specialty and has been an active member of the AAO-HNS and Michigan Otolaryngology Society for many years. As noted in his nomination application, Dr. Stachler “is the kind of workhorse individual that jumps into projects with his sleeves rolled up and ready to work. He does not shy away from difficult projects, rather he seeks them out. His hard work and reliability are what merits the appropriate recognition of Practitioner Excellence Award.”

Please join the BOG to honor the award recipients during the BOG General Assembly meeting, 5:00-7:00 pm, Monday, September 28, in Dallas.



More from August 2015 - Vol. 34 No. 07