Published: July 28, 2020

At the Forefront

The AAO-HNS extends its greatest appreciation to the candidates of the 2020 election for their dedication and willingness to run for office and serve the AAO-HNS and its members. The Nominating Committee presented the membership with an outstanding slate of candidates. The AAO-HNS thanks the Committee for its meaningful deliberation. Albert L. Merati, MD, and the Nominating Committee are pleased to announce the results of the 2020 AAO-HNS Annual Election

2020 Committee Excellence Awards Announced

Laryngology Bronchoesophagology Education Committee
Chair: Thomas L. Carroll, MD

Head and Neck Surgery Education Committee
Chair: David M. Cognetti, MD

Humanitarian Efforts Committee
Chair: Mark E. Zafereo, Jr., MD

Patient Safety and Quality Improvement Committee
Co-chairs:  Emily F. Boss, MD, MPH,
and C. W. David Chang, MD

Rhinology and Paranasal Sinus Committee
Chair:  Sanford M. Archer, MD

WIO Program and Awards Committee
Chair: Evelyne Kalyoussef, MD

2020 Measures

AAO-HNSF Quality Resources on Facial Plastics and Reconstructive Surgery

Read the Clinical Practice Guideline: Improving Nasal Form and Function after Rhinoplasty and the Clinical Consensus Statement: Septoplasty with or without Inferior Turbinate Reduction by visiting

In addition, review the Qualified Clinical Data Registry measures on rhinoplasty, which are available through the Reg-entSM registry. These measures were developed in collaboration between the AAO-HNSF, American Society of Plastic Surgeons (ASPS), and American Academy of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (AAFPRS).

  • ASPS16 – Airway Assessment for Patients Undergoing Rhinoplasty
  • ASPS17 – Patient Satisfaction with Rhinoplasty Procedure
  • ASPS18 – Shared-decision Making for Post-operative Management of Discomfort Following Rhinoplasty

To view the measure specifications and learn more, visit

More from August 2020 – Vol. 39, No. 7