State Trackers: above and beyond volunteerism

July 2017 – Vol. 36, No. 6

The AAO-HNS State Tracker program connects advocacy-minded physicians with specialty-impacting legislation in their state. By monitoring daily legislative reports, State Trackers can quickly alert the Academy if assistance is needed on potentially harmful legislation. In addition, these physician leaders serve as an important point of contact between the Academy, state medical societies, and state otolaryngology societies. To aid in their efforts, State Trackers have access to an Academy-hosted monthly conference call to help monitor legislative trends, participate in a dedicated ENTConnect community, and receive a monthly legislative summary, “The State-mENT.”

With the end of the 2017 state legislative sessions drawing near, the AAO-HNS would like to recognize our volunteer State Trackers for the time they have invested in protecting the specialty from concerning legislative initiatives across the nation. Thank you for lending your expertise to bolster the Academy’s state advocacy efforts on a variety of issues, including inappropriate scope-of- practice expansions by non-physicians, taxes on cosmetic procedures, access to hearing aids, and medical liability reforms.

Would you like to serve as an AAO-HNS State Tracker? We are actively recruiting State Trackers for Alaska, Idaho, Mississippi, Nevada, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Utah. Please contact with any questions or to volunteer!

J. Noble Anderson, Jr., MD
William R. Blythe, MD
Niko Corley*
Christi Long*
William R. Blythe, MD

Mariel Stroschein, MD

Lance A. Manning, MD
Paul R. Neis, MD

Art A. Ambrosio, MD
Marcella R. Bothwell, MD, MBA
Susan R. Cordes, MD
Steven T. Kmucha, MD, JD
Zara M. Patel, MD
Geoffrey A. Smith, MD

Jeremy D. Prager, MD
Andrew Winkler, MD

David S. Boisoneau, MD
Denis C. Lafreniere, MD
Raymond Winicki, MD
Ken Yanagisawa, MD

Paul M. Imber, DO

District of Columbia
William R. Bond, Jr., MD
Brian K. Reilly, MD

K. Paul Boyev, MD
Michael L. Patete, MD
Michael D. Seidman, MD
Andrew J. Tompkins, MD
Robin L. Wagner*

Peter J. Abramson, MD
Donald N. Cote, MD
Lisa C. Perry-Gilkes, MD
Nikhila Raol, MD, MPH
Julie L. Zweig, MD

Paulus D. Tsai, MD

Ira D. Uretzky, MD

Michael Agostino, MD
Edward J. Krowiak, MD

Isaac D. Erbele, MD

Mark G. Bell, MD

Paul A. Conrad, MD
K. John Yun, MD

Keith F. DeSonier, MD
Lawrence M. Simon, MD

Benjamin D. Liess, MD

William R. Bond, Jr., MD
Barbara M. Brocato*
Hamad Chaudhary, MD
Shannon P. Pryor, MD
Daniel E. Shattuck*
Michael D. Weiss, MD
H. Russell Wright, Jr., MD

Wendy B. Stern, MD
Kenneth Whittemore, Jr., MD

Seilesh Babu, MD
Lamont Jones, MD
Charles F. Koopmann, Jr., MD, MHSA
Robert Stachler, MD

Paul C. Frake, MD
James E. Kuderer, DO

C.W. David Chang, MD
Jonathan J. Lusardi, MD

Paul Byorth, MD
Neal L. Rogers, MD

Andrew Coughlin, MD
Ryan K. Sewell, MD
New Hampshire
Mark F. Kelly, MD
Christopher J. Knox, DO

New Jersey
Paul J. Carniol, MD
Nathan A. Deckard, MD
Lee D. Eisenberg, MD, MPH
Jeffrey D. Roffman, MD

New Mexico
Karen A. Hawley, MD

New York
Sujana S. Chandrasekhar, MD
David R. Edelstein, MD
Soha N. Ghossaini, MD
Paul E. Hammerschlag, MD
Phillip L. Massengill, MD
Steven M. Parnes, MD
Robin M. Pellegrino, MPA*
Gavin Setzen, MD
Hayes H. Wanamaker, MD
Jay S. Youngerman, MD
Lauren S. Zaretsky, MD

North Carolina
Art A. Ambrosio, MD
Calhoun D. Cunningham III, MD
Brian W. Downs, MD
Robert F. Leinbach II, MD
Eileen M. Raynor, MD
Merritt J Seshul, MD
W. Alan Skipper*
Carlton J. Zdanski, MD

Stacey L. Ishman, MD, MPH
Yash J. Patil, MD

Christopher F. Baranano, MD
Mark W. Wood, MD

Philip B. Zald, MD

Nathan A. Deckard, MD
Stephen M. Froman, MD
Jennifer A. Keeler*
Karen A. Rizzo, MD
Jeffrey P. Simons, MD

Rhode Island
Andrew Tompkins, MD

South Carolina
Robert Puchalski, MD
Gregory Tarasidis, MD

Ronald H. Kirkland, MD, MBA

Daniel C. Chelius, Jr., MD
Enrique T. Garcia, MD
Brad Holland, MD
Chad Whited, MD

Kristofer E. Anderson, MD
Richard N. Hubbell, MD

Stephen Bakos, MD, PhD
Jane B. Davis*
Susan McConnell*
Michelle M. Roeser, MD

David L. Horn, MD
Sung-Won Kim, MD
Sanjay R. Parikh, MD

West Virginia
Diane Slaughter*
Joseph B. Touma, MD
John W. Wyllie, MD

Nathan T. N. Schreiber, MD

Sigsbee W. Duck, MD

*State OTO society personnel