How to calculate your honor points

March 2017 - Vol. 36, No. 02

Honor points, Honors Awards, and Distinguished Service Awards are all part of the Academy and Foundation’s system of recognizing Members for volunteer activities. The honor point promotes recognition not only for the quality of service, but also for the variety and longevity of service. Non-members receive honor points but are not eligible for Honors Awards or Distinguished Service Awards. However, points earned as a non-member convey once a non-member becomes an AAO-HNS Member.

How Members earn honor points

Members receive honor points for participating in a variety of activities and leadership roles, including:

  • Academy and/or Foundation committee
  • Annual Meeting course instructor, paper presenter, or poster presenter
  • BOG committee
  • BOG Spring Meeting attendee
  • CORE Study Section grant review
  • Exceptional service on a committee, upon recommendation by the chair
  • Guideline Development Task Force
  • Officers and members of the Board of Directors
  • Editorial Boards and Associate Editors of AAO-HNSF journals
  • Presidential-appointed ad hoc task force members

Honors Award

The Honors Award is the first award a Member can obtain for participation in activities that earn honor points. Each Member can only earn one Honors Award in a lifetime. To receive an Honors Award, a Member must earn 10 volunteer service honor points over a minimum of five years. A maximum of two points, each from a different category of service, can be earned per year.

Here are the basic rules for calculating points for the Honors Award:

  1. Ten honor points are required to earn the award.
  2. No more than two points per year are credited to the award.
  3. No more than one point per category, per year, can be credited to the award; therefore, to earn the maximum of two points per year, a Member must participate in two different qualifying activities.
  4. It takes a minimum of five years to earn the Honors Award.

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award is the recognition of volunteer service beyond the level of an Honors Award. Members who attain 50 honor points, including the 10 points received for an Honor Award, receive the Distinguished Service Award (DSA).

There is no limit on the number of Distinguished Service Awards a Member may receive. All honor points, regardless of quantity earned in each category in a year, are credited toward the DSA. For example, if Dr. Doe teaches two instruction courses, two points are credited to the DSA. However, only one of these points can be applied to an Honors Award.

Visit to see examples of points calculations.