Richard M. Rosenfeld, MD, MPH, MBA: 5-time AAO-HNS Distinguished Service Award Recipient

November 2019 – Vol. 38, No. 10

A special congratulations goes to Richard M. Rosenfeld, MD, MPH, MBA, for being the only five-time recipient of the AAO-HNS Distinguished Service Award (DSA) in Academy history.

Richard M. Rosenfeld, MD, MPH, MBA

Dr. Rosenfeld received his fifth DSA at the AAO-HNSF 2019 Annual Meeting & OTO Experience in New Orleans, LA. To achieve this, he earned a total of 250 lifetime honor points, making him the only Academy member in history who has reached this level of accomplishment.

The DSA represents an individual’s service and volunteerism to the Academy, offering personal reward as well as benefit to the AAO-HNS/F and the specialty as a whole. “My engagement with AAO-HNS over nearly 30 years has been incredibly rewarding, both in terms of making a difference in the specialty and in my own personal and professional growth,” said Dr. Rosenfeld.

Honor Awards and Distinguished Service Awards are part of the Academy’s system for recognizing meritorious service. The DSA is a recognition of volunteer service beyond the level of an Honor Award. Members who attain 50 honor points receive the Distinguished Service Award. There is no limit on the number of Distinguished Service Awards a member may receive.

To learn more about Honor and Distinguished Service Awards, go to

Five DSAs
Richard M. Rosenfeld, MD, MPH, MBA

Four DSAs
Mark K. Wax, MD

Three DSAs
Andrew Blitzer, MD, DDS
Karen H. Calhoun, MD
Sujana S. Chandrasekhar, MD
B. Tucker Woodson, MD